Five Blues up for PFA awards

Mohamed Salah Cristiano Ronaldo

GETTYMo Salah's season compares to Real Madrid star and ex Man United man Ronaldo says Carragher

Liverpool's Mohammed Salah, Manchester United's David De Gea, Tottenham's Harry Kane and Manchester City trio of Kevin De Bruyne, David Silva and Leroy Sane have all been nominated for the Professional Footballers' Association (PFA) Players' Player of the Year award.

Sane and Kane are also on the shortlist for the Young Player of the Year award.

The victor will be announced at the PFA's annual awards ceremony in London on Sunday, April 22. They face competition from Kane, Marcus Rashford and Ryan Sessegnon.

Salah or De Bruyne are expected to pick up the gong at the prestigious end of the season awards ceremony, and whoever wins the award will succeed Chelsea's N'Golo Kante, who was crowned the victor of the 2017 edition of the prize. He leads the assist charts with 15 and has scored 7 goals plus he played his part in winning the League Cup.

After Deadly Storms, Agency Retires 4 Hurricane Names
Irma - a Category 5 storm, the strongest designation, wrecked havoc on Caribbean islands; Barbuda was nearly completely destroyed. If more than 21 storms form in one season, like in 2005, the Greek alphabet is used to name the additional storms.

Belgium worldwide De Bruyne has played a pivotal role in Manchester City's march towards their third Premier League title, with Pep Guardiola's side 13 points clear going into this weekend's fixtures.

That haul leaves him just two shy of the Premier League record for goals in a single 38-game season, with Liverpool still having five games to play.

"Even Thierry Henry, possibly the greatest player ever to grace the Premier League, only got 39 goals in his most prolific season ever". Salah meanwhile has enjoyed a sensational debut season at Liverpool.

Silva has also produced moments of brilliance for City in the heart of midfield, while De Gea's typically superb form for United is rewarded once more with yet another nomination for the top award.

Latest News