BJP banks on old guard in Karnataka, despite the cases against them

Opposition finds fresh ammo as rape cases unravel

PM should fast track cases of rapes of minor children: Rahul

The party is yet to name candidates for Shantinagar segment in Bengaluru Central, Kittar, Nagthan, Sindgi, Raichur and Melukote.

"People of north Karnataka had requested me to contest from Badami". The party, in the past week, had released its first list of 72 candidates.

Supporters of party leader Anjana Murthy protested in Bengaluru after he was denied a ticket from the Nelamangala constituency, ANI reported. Senior Congress leaders in the list include Ministers Kagodu Thimmappa, D.K. Shivakumar, K.J. George and M.B. Patil, Speaker K.B. Koliwad and Congress Working Presidents Dinesh Gundu Rao & S.R. Patil. A loss in Karnataka will put the Congress party's future in the country on life support.

Assembly polls in Karnataka is weeks away, and the current Siddaramaiah-led Congress government in the state will finish its full term of five years on May 28 - a feat no party has managed since 1985.

Full Metal Jacket Actor R. Lee Ermey Passes Away At 74
If you thought he was motivating in Full Metal Jacket you should have seen him on the firing line when points mattered. Most recently, Ermey hosted Outdoor Channel's "GunnyTime with R.

Though he was re-elected from the adjacent Varuna seat in Mysuru district in the May 2013 assembly polls, the party high command has agreed to field his son Yatindra from his home constituency this time.

Rebellion, in fact, began brewing in the party ranks even as the list was made public, with several aspirants hitting the road in open defiance of the leadership across the state.

Supporters of former excise minister Manohar Tahsildhar, who now represents Hangal, staged a protest over denial of the party ticket to their leader.

Congress workers in Bagalkot district express displeasure with the KPCC for announcing ticket to tainted former minister HY Meti. These leaders are reported to have cited S.M. Krishna's case (contested from Maddur in 1999 and Chamarajpet in 2004) while arguing that contesting from two Constituencies by the Chief Minister would send out a wrong message to the electorate.

Latest News