Think twice before taking screenshot of Instagram users' stories

Instagram testing out a resharing feature on Stories                   By Ida Torres

Instagram testing out a resharing feature on Stories By Ida Torres

As of now, when someone will take a screenshot of another person's Instagram story, the person who has posted the story will be notified with the star-shaped icon placed next to his/her story handle.

But that's about to change. For the past couple of months, Instagram has been quickly adding new features to its app, and it is now testing another new feature to expand Stories. Even though the idea behind Instagram Stories is to share a sequence of photos and videos like a slideshow that disappear at the end of the day, some users could screenshot or screen record those stories to preserve them for longer without the knowledge of the user. The Star shaped icon is visible with the name of a person who screenshot your story in handler bar.

The Regram feature is par for the course, considering Instagram launched text-only stories earlier this month allowing users to follow hashtags.

With over 300 million active users on the platform, it remains to be seen how Instagram's new feature will be received.

Snapchat notifies you when people screenshot your Snaps, though you used to be able to get around its system by switching on Airplane Mode before taking a screenshot.

Moon holds near 3-hour meeting with N. Korean delegates
The rare meeting began shortly after 11 a.m. and ended at 1:46 p.m., an official from the presidential office Cheong Wa Dae said . The two will be attending the opening ceremony, where a North Korean delegation will also be present.

"We are always testing ways to make it easier to share any moment with friends on Instagram", the company was quoted as saying.

Stories is quite a popular feature not just on Instagram, but it is widely popular on other networks such as Facebook, Instagram, Messenger and other platforms. If one posts a picture and their account are private then the public account will not be able to share the post directly in their story.

For public account holders concerned about their privacy, a setting allows one to turn off the ability for others to share their posts. Some users are getting this feature as a part of beta testing.

Gizbot Stay updated with latest technology news & gadget reviews.

Latest News