Sher Bahadur Deuba resigns, KP Oli to take over as Nepal PM

Newly elected Nepali Prime Minister Khadga Prasad Sharma Oli

Newly elected Nepali Prime Minister Khadga Prasad Sharma Oli

In 2015, when Nepal adopted a new Constitution that split it into seven states, dozens of people were killed in ethnic clashes over territory and rights.

The CPN-UML today picked party Chairman KP Sharma Oli as the next Prime Minister of Nepal, a senior leader of the party said, over two months after the successful conclusion of historic parliamentary polls.

Oli will be sworn in as the Prime Minister in a function at the Office of the President, The Himalayan Times reported on Thursday.

The veteran Nepalese politician became Nepal's prime minister for the fourth time in May previous year after the main opposition party chose to end the obstruction of parliament.

Rudd marks 10 years since Stolen apology
The tenth annual " Closing the Gap " report said Australia was failing to meet its targets in four-out-of-seven measures. The Closing the Gap decade has been a disappointment, with minimal improvement in the lot of Indigenous people.

As per reports, a standing committee meeting of the UML on Wednesday chose to field the party's Chairman K P Sharma Oli as the new prime minister on behalf of the left alliance comprising the UML and the Maoist Center.

Bhandari was elected as the first woman president of Nepal in October, 2015. The Nepali Congress has 63 seats while the CPN-Maoist Centre has 53 seats.

He had also served as Minister of Home Affairs in 1994�??1995. He is likely to induct two leaders, one each from the UML and the CPN-Maoist Centre, as ministers today, according to the source. Reports state that former health minister Girirajmani Pokharel submitted the resignation of all the ministers - 10 union and six ministers of state - from the Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist Centre) to Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba.

Latest News