Men in Blue keen to bounce back in Port Elizabeth

India jump to top position

Coach Gibson hopes vanquished SA can salvage some pride against India

India still leads the six-game series 3-1 but South Africa's victory in the rain-shortened game at the Wanderers gave it a glimpse of hope that it could avoid a first-ever ODI series loss at home to the Indians. No other batsman could go past 50 and India fell short of the 300 mark after being asked to bat first by Aiden Markram. Shreyas Iyer first dropped at deep square leg the left-handed batsman who had his stumps dismantled in the same over of a no-ball, with South Africa at 106/4 in the 18th over and the asking rate was more than nine per over.

Put in to bat, openers Rohit and Shikhar Dhawan gave India a flying start at the St. Georges Park in Port Elizabeth.

But after Amla's departure, Heinrich Klaasen fought gamely by making at 42-ball 39 before his exit in the 42nd over spelt the South Africa's doom.

Yuzvendra Chahal (2/43) also took two wickets for India, while Jasprit Bumrah (1/22) chipped in with a wicket.

And despite, Klaasen's late assault, India managed to wrap the innings with relative ease and registered their ninth consecutive bilateral series win in ODIs. His breezy 23-ball 34 eased a lot of pressure on Rohit, who preferred not to take first strike in this match. Alongside the skipper, opener Shikhar Dhawan has looked in fine nick and will be the key to India putting up a good total.

Rohit Sharma slammed 115 runs from 126 balls in the fifth ODI.

Steve Kerr lets Warriors players coach themselves during timeouts
They dished 36 assists, committed only 12 turnovers and held the Suns to a miniscule 34.7 percent shooting from the field. And while playing the Suns helped revitalize the Warriors defense it also did wonders for a couple struggling players.

Ngidi struck again the very next ball as Hardik Pandya suffered the same fate as Rohit and had to trudge back to the pavilion for a golden duck. South Africa lost their last six wickets for just 35 runs to capitulate to 202 all out in pursuit of 275, which was symbolic of how the series has played out. He was obviously infuriated at Rohit Sharma for the run out.

"Two guys got run out before me so there was nothing to celebrate about". Tabraiz Shamsi has been brought in to replace Chris Morris, who has been suffering from a stiff back.

Former and current India players heaped praise on the Indian team as Twitter was flooded with congratulatory messages with Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar leading the way.

South Africa Women: Dane van Niekerk (C), Marizanne Kapp, Trisha Chetty, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Sune Luus, Odine Kirsten, Mignon du Preez, Lizelle Lee, Chloe Tryon, Nadine de Klerk, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Moseline Daniels. The telecast will be made available on Sony Ten 1, Sony Ten 1 HD, Sony Ten 3, Sony Ten 3 HD channels.

The live broadcast will begin at 4.30 pm IST.

Latest News