BJP alliance will get absolute majority: Neiphiu Rio

Ex-Nagaland CM Neiphiu Rio likely to win polls unopposed after rival drops out The Indian Express

Ex-Nagaland CM Neiphiu Rio likely to win polls unopposed after rival drops out: The Indian Express

Nagaland's Former chief minister and leader of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), Neiphiu Rio became the first victor in the Assembly polls after his opponent Chupfuo Angami, Naga People's Front (NPF) candidate withdrew his nomination on Monday.

On Febuary 3, the BJP forged an alliance and came to a seat sharing agreement with the NDPP. 11 Northern Angami-II assembly constituency has been Neiphiu Rio's stronghold since his first electoral win in 1989 and which he retained consecutively in 1993, 1998, 2003, 2009 and 2013. In 2004 BJP had won unprecedented seven seats but managed just two seats in the next elections, and then ended up with just one in the 2014 polls.

Rio said a leader not leading the people in the front but a leader leading from behind is very unsafe for the people.

With Mr Rio's election, 196 candidates remain in the fray.

Rio said that in 2015-2018 all legislators became a part of the government and there was no opposition.

German court finds Facebook guilty of privacy violations
We are reviewing this recent decision carefully and are pleased that the court agreed with us on a number of issues. The consumer watchdogs argued that users pay with their data, but the court said the claim passed muster.

Visasolie Lhoungu, president, BJP Nagaland state in his speech called upon the party workers to work hard in the true spirit of alliance partner and at the same time build better coordination to ensure victory of the alliance candidates. Thereafter, Rio said he returned to NDPP party, formed by "like-minded" people.

He further said the targeted people were not getting benefit and under opposition-less government the public had played part of opposition. Monday was the last day for withdrawal of nominations for the state assembly polls, scheduled for February 27.

Meanwhile, the total number of candidates withdrawn is 32.

It may be mentioned that three candidates filed their nominations from Northern Angami II- Neiphiu Rio (NDPP), Chupfuo Angami (NPF) and an NDPP (S) Neiphrezo Keditsu.

Latest News