AAP likely to name its RS nominees today

Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal. The Rajya Sabha nominations have revived talk of a rift in the party with a war of words breaking out between Kumar Vishwas and senior leaders

AAP took a dig, says Kumar Vishvas involved in conspiracies to overthrow Arvind Kejriwal-led Delhi Govt

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Wednesday nominated members for three Rajya Sabha seats, making them the first non-Bharatiya Janata Party, non-Congress members to be nominated to the upper house from the national capital.

Aam Aadmi Party on Wednesday nominated Sanjay Singh, Sushil Gupta and ND Gupta as its Rajya Sabha nominees and its senior member Kumar Vishwas is not happy.

Meanwhile, AAP leader Kumar Vishwas, whose relationship with the party has been under considerable strain, has expressed his anguish for not nominating him for the Rajya Sabha.

Delhi's Deputy CM Manish Sisodia confirmed the names through an official announcement. AAP Delhi convenor Gopal Rai took up to Facebook Live to justify the party's decision of electing the two outsiders - Narain Dass Gupta and Sushil Gupta - as its candidates for Rajya Sabha seats which triggered criticism from opposition parties.

The decision on their candidature has come after much parleys and discussions within the party. Arvind (Kejriwal) felt that someone from outside be sent. "It is impossible for anyone to survive in the party by speaking against you", he added.

Former party leaders like Yogendra Yadav, Mayank Gandhi and Kapil Mishra, among others, alleged that AAP sold the Rajya Sabha tickets.

Iran holds out hope for survivors on burning oil tanker
Rabiei as the head of the committee to follow-up the case of the tanker accident off Chinese coast. Thirty Iranian and two Bangladeshi sailors were onboard during the catastrophic collision.

As per the reports, the party does not plan to field any of its leaders for the three seats in Delhi which got vacant in January.

Those approached included former RBI chief Raghuram Rajan, ex-BJP minister Arun Shourie and former CJI T.S. Thakur. "I will never compromise on any stand in this video, even if more sacrifices are needed in future, because it's not just me, it's We, The Nation!" "Now I don't know what to say".

Senior party leader Kumar Vishwas, who has reportedly been at odds with the AAP central leadership for some time now, was earlier considered to be one of the strongest contenders.

Polls for the three seats will be held on 16 January while the last day for filing nominations is 5 January.

The party had earlier made a decision to field prominent academicians, economists and lawyers instead of party members for the three seats.

Latest News