Torey Lovullo, a former Bruin, wins NL Manager of the Year

Dave Roberts Finishes Second for National League Manager of the Year

Christian Petersen Getty Images

Torey Lovullo of the Arizona Diamondbacks and Paul Molitor of the Minnesota Twins were the runaway winners in the National League and American League, respectively, after guiding both franchises to the 2017 postseason one year after they had lost a combined 196 games. Colorado Rockies manager Bud Black finished third.

Lovullo wins the award as a first-year manager just as Roberts did following the 2016 season.

In his first season as a big-league manager, Lovullo, 52, guided the Diamondbacks to a 93-69 record despite playing an unbalanced schedule in a division that yielded three playoff teams.

Lovullo finished in first place with more than double the points of Los Angeles Dodgers manager Dave Roberts, who finished in second. Craig Counsell of the Milwaukee Brewers finished fourth and Dusty Baker, who was sacked by the Washington Nationals, finished fifth.

Uber rant caught on camera; fired Texas prosecutor speaks
According to the Dallas Morning News , the 32-year-old prosecutor was sacked on Monday following a "thorough investigation". A former Dallas County prosecutor came to Warner's defense online. "There's two sides to every event", Schulte tweeted.

Molitor, who was elected to the Hall of Fame as a player in 2004, is the second Hall of Famer to be named Manager of the Year. "If you win rookie of the year, the Cy Young or the MVP, it's about the player".

The Minnesota Twins' Paul Molitor (18 first-place votes) was the American League victor.

It was good enough for second place in the National League West behind the MLB-best Los Angeles Dodgers and a wild-card spot. He beat the Indians' Terry Francona by 22 points. Baker got one first-place vote. Nobody expected a postseason berth for the Twins - perhaps not even their front office, because they were sellers at the trade deadline.

Hinch navigated the Astros to a 101-61 record and their first-ever World Series title in his third season at the helm.

Latest News