PM Modi, Australia PM Turnbull hold bilateral meeting — ASEAN Summit

Philippinen ASEAN Gipfel in Manila

PM Modi at ASEAN in the Philippines: The Ramayana Connection

He described ASEAN as a symbol of peace and prosperity.

The summit was attended by US President Donald Trump, President Duterte, and other ASEAN leaders at the Philippine International Convention Center.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday conveyed India's total support and commitment to work with the East Asia Summit, an influential bloc, to address political, security and trade related issues in the region.

On Sunday, India, Australia, Japan and the United States held their first meeting to give shape to the much talked about quadrilateral alliance to keep the Indo-Pacific region "free and open". "It is time that we jointly address this challenge by intensifying cooperation in this crucial area", he said.

Abe and Modi spoke for 40 minutes on the sidelines of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations summit.

China claims sovereignty over all of SCS, a huge source of hydrocarbons.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi criticised the Congress and questioned the party's record on governance and also the scams that erupted before the 2014 elections.

Presidency celebrates Buhari's title as leader of Igbo people
The president also attended the unveiling of the statue of one of the founding fathers of Nigeria Akanu Ibiam. I want to assure you that we will deliver on our promise.

"The befitting theme of "Shared Values, Common Destiny" for our 25th anniversary celebrations has been jointly celebrated with a number of commemorative activities".

"We look forward to the East Asia Summit attaining greater salience in years to come".

Reporting from Manila, PTI said that the remarks were made while addressing the Indian diaspora in the Philippines capital.

The ties between India and ASEAN have been on an upswing.

Echoing Premier Li, President Duterte urged the APT leaders "to continue nurturing peaceful coexistence, particularly within the APT, where we consider ourselves as one and a family".

RCEP is a 16-nation proposed free trade pact eyed to further strengthen ASEAN markets, namely Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam, and its major trading partners China, South Korea, Australia, India, Japan and New Zealand.

Latest News