Singapore Grand Prix: Circuit to host race until at least 2021

Singapore to continue hosting Formula 1 Grand Prix until 2021 image

F1 Singapore Grand Prix extended for another four years to 2021

ESPN looks at all of the stats that you will need ahead of the crucial race weekend.

The Singapore Grand Prix will take place from Friday, September 15 to Sunday, September 17.

Only four drivers have ever taken top spot on the podium - all of them drivers who were, or went on to be, world champions. Other short odds to win are Lewis Hamilton (+162), Daniel Ricciardo (+700) and Max Verstappen (+700).

The Singapore Grand Prix, the Singapore Tourism Board and the Singapore Government have all done an excellent job of making this an event that involves the whole city. Barring a spectacular performance, he will be the sole owner of the unenviable record of being the driver with the most grand prix starts without a podium.

Following the demise of the Malaysian Grand Prix, which will be held for the last time on 1 October, it will be the only race in the region.

"Singapore is truly an iconic race on our schedule". France has enshrined in law that big sporting events must be free-to-air, so the French Grand Prix fits into that category.

Hostaged Marawi priest Chito Soganub rescued
Quijano, Father Suganob, together with another hostage, was rescued by troops near Bato mosque at about 2:30 p.m. However, he did not provide any further details citing "not to jeopardize the military ongoing operations".

The lights are on and the cars are gleaming as the night draws nearer.

Can Singapore specialist Vettel reclaim the championship lead?

Hamilton has won three of the last four races.

"We think in the next three to four years we can really take Formula One to a place that is good for all our partners and really adds a new level of excitement and new dimensions to the sport", he said.

It will not be easy to take maximum points this weekend though - no team has ever taken a one-two in Singapore, and Kimi Raikkonen is now on a barren run of 88 races without a victory.

However, Liberty failed to extend Singapore by the usual five years, as the city-state's authorities remained cautious about F1's future direction under its new owners.

Latest News