UM's McCray lands on Butkus Award watch list

Davin Bellamy

Michigan's Mike McCray on Butkus Award watch list

Nebraska senior receiver De'Mornay Pierson-El has been named to the watch list for the 2017 Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse.

Named after Louisville native Hornung, the award has been given annually to the most versatile player in college football since 2010.

Only a year removed from an ACL tear in his knee, Cameron Smith led USC in tackles last season, and was stalwart at middle linebacker.

On the India-China stand-off
India and China claim sovereignty of two large and few smaller territories that are disputed between the two for the past decades. At least 158 Indian soldiers have been killed on Monday as China fired rockets across the border on Indian border installations.

Highlighted by three 100-plus yard receiving performances, Cornelius recorded 32 receptions for 515 yards and four touchdown catches, while adding a rushing score, in 2016. He was the only player in the SEC and one of three players in the nation with a 40-yard punt return, 40-yard run and 40-yard reception during the 2015 season. He started 11 times and appeared in all 13 games. Also subbing in on kickoffs, Fant had five returns for 106 yards, including a long of 59. As a sophomore, Fant was 2-for-3 on pass attempts for 76 yards, with both completions going for touchdowns.

Watch lists for major college football awards will continue to be announced for the remainder of this week. A national selection committee composed of 16 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the finalists and the victor, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 17th vote. Mirroring the legendary "51" pro jersey of the award's namesake Dick Butkus whom NFL Films considers the best defensive player in football history, each watch list features 51 players identified by a 51-person selection panel of deeply experienced coaches, talent evaluators and journalists.

Latest News